Young Clancy Drops ‘Something Something Tape’ Album + ‘Blue’s Intro’ Video feat. M.I.BLUE

Young Clancy Drops ‘Something Something Tape’ Album + ‘Blue's Intro’ Video feat. M.I.BLUE

On ‘Something Something Tape’, ascending Toronto soul musician and beatmaker Young Clancy captures a vital moment along the city’s ever-thrilling artistic course. Gathering 12 of the most distinctive voices in the city’s thriving independent R&B and hip-hop scenes, Young Clancy settled in over the pandemic lockdown “to create around the times, rather than for the times,” he says, distilling a unique and tangible perspective on “The New Toronto Sound“, a version that truly vibrates on the deep, unifying heartbeat coursing through its artistic community.

Made up of 13 minute songs – sonic explorations in brevity, inspired by the masterpieces in miniature of J Dilla’s ‘Donuts’ and Tierra Whack’s ‘Whack House’ – the young boundary-less producer (born Nathan Burley) lays out a trove of homespun econo beats that evoke inspiring performances by vocal talents and wordsmiths from across town, like visionary rapper Clairmont the Second, mainstay soul singer Chris LaRocca, conspirators like rapper-filmmaker Matthew Progress and songstress Daniela Andrade, and inevitable threats like DijahSB, Kennen, M.I.BLUE, niina rosa, and more.

The result is an infinite 18 minutes of intuitive and emotionally far-ranging music, leaping from the weeping psychedelic soul of M.I.BLUE’s “Blue’s Intro” to the trunk-rattling low-end of Adrian Dey’s “Saucy” with barely a frame of repetition: a compliment to the synchronistic musical conversations at hand; equal testament to Clancy’s chameleon imagination, and to the crucial performance of each vocalist.

Something Something Tape’ Tracklisting:

  1. Blue’s Intro featuring M.I.BLUE
  2. Death featuring Clairmont The Second
  3. Ooh Aah featuring Jahmal Padmore
  4. Parable 3 featuring Matthew Progress
  5. Fire Eater featuring Kevin A
  6. Might Could featuring Chris LaRocca
  7. Nasty featuring Yzabo
  8. Saucy featuring Adrian Dey
  9. 159AMJILLYSTYPEBEAT featuring niina rosa
  10. Vivre featuring DijahSB
  11. Kaleidoscope featuring Kennen
  12. Grim Reap featuring Daniela Andrade
  13. Comforting Outro

Young Clancy’s ‘Something Something Tape’ album is also available to stream & cop via your preferred major digital service provider