Video: Trinidad James – Playli$t

Video: Trinidad James - Playli$t

Multi-platinum Trinidad-born and Atlanta-based rapper, artist, and entrepreneur Trinidad James celebrates his birthday today by dropping a new single and music video entitled "PLAYLI$T". The track stands out as the very first release under the newly minted global distribution and label services deal between his own label Gold Gang Records / Beach Wave Sounds and ADA Worldwide.

In the video, Trinidad is decked out in his flyest signature ensemble while he struts through a marching band. The Young Fyre-produced beat bristles against his bold bars as he declares, "I got my own lane." In the track, Trinidad namechecks favorite artists that belong on his playlist. The gold boots, colorful whips, and dance moves make for a cinematic visual on par with his boldest work.

Of "PLAYLI$T", he commented, "It's a love song for humanity and hip-hop. Not many singles show other artists love on them. Every artist mentioned on the hook is an artist that inspires me, and I actually have on my 'PLAYLI$T'."

Multi-platinum Trinidad-born and Atlanta-based artist Trinidad James makes his presence known in music and beyond. He stands out as a songwriter whose discography includes music for the likes of Will Smith and Bad Bunny, as a co-host of Complex X Sole Collector's Full Size Run, and as an entrepreneur with his own Gold Gang Records.

In 2012, Trinidad exploded onto the scene with Don't Be S.A.F.E. Amidst a heated major label bidding war, he signed to Def Jam and re-released Don't Be S.A.F.E. as one of the year's most-anticipated projects. Its lead single "All Gold Everything" transformed into a phenomenon, earned a platinum plaque, and provided the basis for the hook of Mark Ronson's GRAMMY Award-winning diamond-certified "Uptown Funk" [feat. Bruno Mars], i.e. the iconic "Don't believe me, just watch." Bruno Mars even personally called him about the usage. He maintained a prolific pace in its aftermath. He appeared on the double-platinum remix of A$AP Ferg's "Work" alongside A$AP Rocky, French Montana, and ScHoolboy Q. He dropped 10Pc. Mild a year later followed by No One Is Safe [2016], The Wake Up 2 [2017], Father Figga [2017], and Daddy Issues [2018], teaming up with everyone from Travis Scott and Young Thug to Gucci Mane and Lil Dicky. Amassing nearly 200 million streams on his catalog by 2019, he remains a sought-after collaborator with August Alsina enlisting him for the double-platinum "I Love This Shit" and Jaden tapping him for "Mission" in 2019. Not to mention, he has appeared in extensive features by Rolling Stone, Forbes, Revolt, and more. Everything sets the stage for his next release.