Video: Moelogo – On Me

Video: Moelogo - On Me

Described as an ‘Afropop dream’ and undeniably one of the hottest and most exciting talents of recent years, British-Nigerian singer-songwriter Moelogo continues to confirm his rightful place at the forefront of the music scene with the release of the vibrant visual for his new Jaysynth and Spax Classic produced track ‘On Me’, taken from his new 8-track EP ‘Magic’ (out now).

Written by Moelogo with production from long-time collaborator Bayoz Muzik and further production from Spax Classic, Steve Jazz and Jaysynth (Teni The Entertainer), the EP further demonstrates Moelogo’s unmistakable ability to craft captivating and uplifting music, with compelling storytelling and textured themes and concepts, previously seen on material such as his third EP, ‘Shine Your Light’ (2016) and tracks such as its thought-provoking title song and the infectious ‘Sometimes I Pray’ featuring Tiggs Da Author. Created in Nigeria and released in April, ‘Magic’ sees Moelogo taking a more up-tempo approach on tracks such as ‘On Me’ and ‘All About You’ while throughout the EP – particularly on tracks such as ‘God’s Work’, ‘Grateful’ and title track ‘Magic’ – he maintains a reflection on subjects such as faith, relationships and life’s various trials and tribulations.

Speaking on the EP, Moelogo said:

“With this EP, I wanted to create something magical. It’s a body of work that is about soul searching. It’s a progression from ‘Ireti’ and also ‘Shine Your Light’, so it’s not just about my own stories but other people’s stories too. I wanted to say what other people might want to say, or hear, but don’t have the platform to do so.

This EP is special to me, which is why I decided to release it on my birthday. I thought the best gift I could have is to have people celebrate with me.”

Video: Moelogo - On Me

The EP follows Moelogo’s 2017 smash collaboration ‘We Could Go Back’ with British DJ and producer Jonas Blue, which has amassed over 44 million streams on Spotify and saw Moelogo performing to packed audiences including Capital FM’s Jingle Bell Ball at The O2 and big shows for VEVO and Kiss FM. Spending much of his time working on music in Nigeria, he has also recently worked with Mr Eazi on his EP ‘London to Lagos’ (‘London Town’ featuring Giggs and ‘Surrender’ featuring Simi) and Nigerian rap act Show Dem Camp. Since dropping his 2014 underground hit ‘The Baddest’ featuring Giggs, Moelogo has firmly been a part of the buzzing UK music scene, recently working with Da Beatfreakz on their club-and radio smash ‘Pumpy’ and Swarmz on his single ‘Bally’ ft Tion Wayne, which has attracted over 7 million streams on Spotify and spent 9 weeks in the UK Official Charts where it reached the Top 40.

Bursting onto the scene with his breakthrough single ‘Pangolo’, Moelogo released his debut EP ‘Moe Is My Name, Music Is My Logo’ in 2013 – which introduced the world to his unique sound which draws on his love for artists ranging from Afrobeat legends such as Fela Kuti and King Sunny Ade to the likes of soul icon Curtis Mayfield and modern R&B and dancehall – and has gone on to collaborate with artists such as Davido, Sneakbo, Wretch 32, Avelino, Maleek Berry, Ghetts and Juls. Whilst bringing his passion for authentic music to his mesmerizing live offering which has seen him perform memorable sets for Boiler Room, Red Bull, and SXSW.

Already garnering overwhelming support from outlets such as BBC 1Xtra, Beat FM, Capital Xtra, Bang Radio and some of Africa’s leading online publications, Moelogo is poised to take things to the next level on the international music scene with the release of his new EP.

Video: Moelogo - On Me

Magic’ EP Tracklisting:

  1. God’s Work
  2. Grateful
  3. Magic
  4. Luku Luku
  5. Mad
  6. On Me
  7. All About You
  8. Heard You Say