Like most websites, VannDigital uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service, & to improve the site, we remember & store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer. These cookies are completely safe & secure and will never contain any sensitive information. They are used only by VannDigital or the trusted partners that we work with.

Stream @Nate_Husser’s ‘Geto Rock For The Youth’ EP

Nate Husser - Geto Rock For The Youth [EP Artwork]

With an intensely personal aesthetic and influences from all over the musical spectrum, Nate Husser is one of the most uniquely creative emcees on either side of the US/Canada border. Blending his widespread musical and personal influences, including Beck and Rage Against the Machine, into a a hard-edged and lyrical dose of industrial rap, Husser shares Geto Rock For The Youth EP, his first solo EP. An invigorating release with a dark sonic palette, GRFTY showcases Husser’s off-kilter charisma, nimbly weaving his high-pitched rasp through spaces in the beat. A member of the critically acclaimed rap group The Posterz, Husser establishes a compelling solo identity, sometimes aggressive, sometimes aspirational, but always defiant and clever. A compelling counterpoint to the dark, aggressive waves emanating from South Florida and SoundCloud, Geto Rock For The Youth is an impressive debut, positioning Nate Husser as a vital underground artist for the internet age

Explains Husser:

“Geto Rock For The Youth is a vibe, a feel, a genre, a lifestyle, a sound. The project is heavily influenced by my childhood in the 90s, growing up with no Hip Hop radio station in my city. But still, I had great times and the good vibes and feels I soaked up and that stuck with me from that time are what I wanted to translate thru this project. I’m just doin what artists are born to do: Creating. Me and the other members of The Posterz–we gotta learn to create in collaboration as well as by ourselves, if we ever wanna be near as great as we all can be.”

Husser shared “Paintings For The Blind,” a lo-fi, slice of life video that demonstrates Husser’s charisma and character. The video follows Husser as he lives his life, hopping on a plane to a Caribbean island, where he plays soccer with the locals, rides a speedboat, drinks on the beach, and attends a birthday party. Starting with a low-key, minor guitar-and-bass groove, the song gradually builds up steam as the video reaches its climax, with Husser stunting on the street with an entire village of locals. The second track on Geto Rock For The Youth EP, “Paintings For the Blind” explores Husser’s (and society’s) ambition and his constant need for more, more, more: “I already have everything I need / A couple bad bitches and some good ass weed / But if I could just ask for one more thing / That would be a million bucks.” “Paintings For The Blind” is the second video from the project, following the atmospheric and claustrophobic “Catherine,” filmed by Husser himself on an iPhone.

About The EP:
It’s been a minute since the release of ‘Name Anotha N!99@’ but Nate Husser has kept busy. Following a couple of freestyle videos and a string of unique collaborations – notably a guest appearance on Charlotte Cardin’s moody ‘Like It Doesn’t Hurt’ – Husser dropped the frantic ’Can’t Blame ‘Em’, which concretized his musical identity into something that was unmistakably his own.

Having cut his teeth playing countless gigs with his band The Posterz, the challenge of translating his music into a live setting proved to be quite effortless. Husser’s live sets are injected with a healthy dose of showmanship and his unique rock-tinged approach to a rap show helps to differentiate him from the rest of his peers. After road testing songs at shows with acts such as Danny Brown, Post Malone and Night Lovell, Husser began narrowing down the tracklist for what would become his debut EP ‘Geto Rock for the Youth’. The EP features 7 dark and sonically dense tracks; revealing personal stories through clever wordplay and unique flows. “The title kinda says it all. Geto Rock For the Youth is the vibe, it’s the sound, the feel, it’s the nostalgia” says Nate. “It’s for the youth in all us.”

The lead-off song ‘Catherine’ – an ode to his hometown’s main strip – serves as a introduction to an EP that neatly encapsulates the nuances contained in Husser’s take on hip hop. With an unconventional song structure and bleak yet honest lyricism, ‘Catherine’ is the sound of an artist speaking his truth no matter how harsh it may sound, following his muse no matter where it takes him.

Geto Rock For The Youth‘ Tracklisting:

  1. Catherine
  2. Paintings For The Blind (Millions)
  3. KillaKop
  4. Paid To Party
  5. HollyHood
  6. That’s My Chain On Your Neck
  7. Marshall Mathers Type Beat

You can also give the music video for Husser’s “Paintings For The Blind” single a watch below…