Stream Madlib’s ‘Sound Ancestors’ Beat Tape

Stream Madlib’s ‘Sound Ancestors’ Beat Tape

‘Sound Ancestors’
Official Beat Tape Stream

Music by Madlib, arranged by Kieren Hebden

Recorded in LA over the course of some years

Edited, arranged, and mastered by Kieran Hebden at his home and when he was on a plane going places
Lacquered by Bernie Grundman in L.A.
Art direction by Errol Richardson
Photography by Richard Foster
Eothen Alapatt got this record ready for release
All songs written by O. Jackson (Madlib Invazion, BMI) and others

℗© 2021 Madlib Invazion

I was listening to some of his new beats and studio sessions when I had the idea that it would be great to hear some of these ideas made into a Madlib solo album … arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish … we decided to work on this together with him sending me tracks, loops, ideas and experiments that I would arrange, edit, manipulate and combine. I was sent hundreds of pieces of music over a couple of years.” –Kieren Hebden

Sound Ancestors’ Tracklisting:

  1. There Is No Time
  2. The Call
  3. Theme De Crabtree
  4. Road Of The Lonely Ones
  5. ​Loose Goose
  6. Dirtknock
  7. Hopprock
  8. Riddim Chant
  9. Sound Ancestors
  10. One For Quartabê/Right Now
  11. Hang Out (Phone Off)
  12. Two For 2 – For Dilla
  13. Latino Negro
  14. The New Normal
  15. Chino
  16. Duumbiyay



Madlib’s ‘Sound Ancestors’ beat tape is also available to cop on vinyl via Rappcats