Stream K-Prez & J. Depina's 'Flawless' Collabo EP

Stream K-Prez & J. Depina’s ‘Flawless’ Collabo EP

The New Jersey-meets-Rhode Island connection of K-Prez & J. Depina sounds inspired, hungry, and simply on another level on 'Flawless', a quick-fire EP bursting with tack-sharp writing and melodic boom-bap production.

Right out the gate, the emcee/producer duo exudes confidence on opening track "Weigh Out," a raw, looping cut that demonstrates exactly what these two are capable of. Prez pulls you in with a cool and defined style, and the same goes for Depina's jazzy instrumental. It's an ideal introduction to an EP that deals in grown-man hip-hop, from the thoughtful, no-nonsense raps to the dusty, finely crafted production.

'Flawless' is also a testament to these days and times, not only in its creation but also in how the two met. The two connected via mutual friends on Instagram, where they showed an appreciation for one another's work. The conversations quickly led to creating tracks together, with the end result being the five tracks you hear on this project.

There's also a raw emotional vibe running through the EP, which Prez says he really amped up for the track "Dead Roses." He speaks on personal issues he's dealt with during the COVID-19 pandemic and quarantine, a time that's brought challenges but also inspiration. You can really hear that on immediate standout "Recoup," a powerful ode to giving yourself a second chance and bouncing back.

That emotional realness is what makes "Recoup"—and the entire EP, for that matter—such a potent listen. And you can tell that Prez had a good feeling about it when he talks about the project. "I decided to call it 'Flawless' because every track I recorded is top-notch to me," Prez says. "I would say this is some of my best work I've ever penned, so it was only right to title it accordingly."

The Jersey emcee is absolutely right, and you can hear it for yourself now that Flawless is available on all major digital retailers and streaming platforms via Crisis Center Collective.

'Flawless' Tracklisting:

  1. Weigh Out
  2. Flawless featuring Bless Picasso
  3. How Do You Want It
  4. Recoup
  5. Dead Roses