Like most websites, VannDigital uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service, & to improve the site, we remember & store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer. These cookies are completely safe & secure and will never contain any sensitive information. They are used only by VannDigital or the trusted partners that we work with.

Stream Declaime & Madlib’s ‘In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’ Album

Stream Declaime & Madlib’s ‘In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’ Album

Declaime & Madlib reveal their previously unreleased treasure chest of an album, ‘In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’

In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’ is a treasure trove of the early works of Declaime & Madlib, the longtime collaborators who helped usher in a new sound and style from the city of Oxnard, Calif. This collection is brimming with previously unheard tracks from this beyond-creative duo that blends hip-hop with funk, jazz, soul, and psychedelia to lay the groundwork for so many other emcees and producers.

For Declaime (a/k/a Dudley Perkins), this project serves as a way to honor his friends and the city that raised them. He shouts out names like The Almighty Metaphor (aka MED), Oh No the Disrupt, DJ Romes, Kazi, and more, who he says “created a lane for the city of Oxnard to get the recognition it deserves.” Some of them make an appearance in one form or another on this collection, too—Romes, for example, mastered the project—that compiles 13 previously lost tracks that were recorded from 1993 to ‘96.

In addition, Declaime said:

“I’m giving Otis Jackson Jr. (Madlib) his flowers now through these recordings we constructed as hungry young dudes.”

Stream Declaime & Madlib’s ‘In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’ Album
Declaime (right) & Madlib

‘In The Beginning’ is entirely produced by Madlib, who provided all the cuts as well. His instrumentals are on that raw and dusty vibe as they move freely through genres and sounds, like on standout cuts “Madman”, “Black”, and “All Over The World” (featuring MED). Those are all highlights for Declaime, too, and they demonstrate his ability to blend his observations of the world with bravado and third-eye insights. Even as young kids just getting their feet wet in the studio, these two were firmly on their path.

That path started, in a way, when the two became friends as young kids. “I first met Madlib when he moved across the street from me; I was around nine years old at the time,” Declaime says, adding that their fathers were friendly with one another. Despite the two losing touch after Madlib’s family moved, they reconnected just a few years later and the rest is musical history.

‘In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’ is available now on vinyl and through all major DSPs via SomeOthaShip Connect in partnership with Fat Beats Records. This new partnership will also include Declaime’s forthcoming solo LP, ‘The Last Stand’, as well as new releases from Westcoast Stone, HIERO, Cornbread, Joshua Collins, Apocrifo and more!

In The Beginning (Vol. 1)’ Tracklisting:

  1. Enuff
  2. One On One (Remix)
  3. Cool Ways
  4. 2 To Da Head
  5. Madman
  6. Declaime Speaks
  7. Black
  8. Wake Up
  9. Out Like Dat
  10. Massive Meltdown
  11. All Over The World featuring MED
  12. 2 MC 95
  13. Outrose


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.