Stream AZ & DJ Doo Wop’s ‘Legacy’ Mixtape

Stream AZ & DJ Doo Wop's 'Legacy' Mixtape

AZ enjoyed a relatively quiet 2018. The highly-respected Brooklyn, New York lyricist was the subject of a documentary involving commentary by Rakim, Nas, Pete Rock, and Foxy Brown. He made a few careful appearances, one with early mentor Daddy-O of Stetsasonic and another with Fresno, California’s Planet Asia. However, when it came to solo music, the artist responsible for some iconic verses mainly sat back and watched.

That will not be the case for 2019 as AZ jumps things off with the fittingly-titled “It’s Time”. The quick-strike is an homage to an MC and era that inspired S.O.S.A. Kool G Rap & DJ Polo made a lasting Hip-Hop introduction with 1986’s “It’s a Demo”. The devastating display began as a non-album single accompanied by “I’m Fly” for a B-side and would eventually appear on the duo’s 1989 debut LP, Road To The Riches as a remix.

The East New York MC attacks the vintage Marley Marl production with devastating, short lines as he gets on his “project ish”. He spits, “My first debut came through like Jeru / Played who? Nias smoking that cake too / Passed out, got clout they rap ’bout from the trap route / Try’na close on Shaq house / Still buzzin’ / Was the king of the kitchen oven / In the spot with two coke pots like kissin’-cousins / Scratch that / Too fly for flashbacks / Got my eyes on a G5 ‘craft, all matte black / More moula, dirt-bikes out in Dubai / Fuck 50 feet in the sky, I need a new high.” For an artist who has made memorable songs with L.E.S., Pete Rock, DJ Premier, and Dr. Dre, this showcases some finesse over chopped break-beats.

Stream AZ & DJ Doo Wop's 'Legacy' Mixtape

In recent years, A has been working on Doe Or Die 2. He released a Buckwild-produced single called “My Niggas”. Apart from that, AZ released a 2017 video single, “Save Them”, which features Raekwon and one of Prodigy’s final appearances.

Notably, AZ and Kool G Rap worked together on Ghostface Killah’sThe Battlefield”, which was released as an animated video from 36 Seasons.

You can give the ‘Legacy‘ mixtape, hosted by DJ Doo Wop, a listen below…

Legacy‘ Tracklisting:

  1. Drink Champs Intro
  2. Thank You
  3. Drama Hour Interlude
  4. Doo Wop Freestyle 1
  5. Bouncemasta Interlude
  6. It’s Time
  7. Doo Wop Freestyle 2
  8. Da Jux featuring Vado
  9. Esco Interlude
  10. The Season featuring Nas
  11. Rae Interlude
  12. Blood Missile featuring Raekwon
  13. Honest Truth featuring 38 Spesh
  14. Overseas Interlude
  15. My Niggas
  16. Freestyle featuring Half-A-Mil
  17. So Good featuring Planet Asia
  18. Oil Money
  19. Started featuring DJ Premier, Moss, & Joe Budden
  20. Sway Interlude
  21. Genesis
  22. Doo Wop Outro
  23. Hardest featuring Styles P

AZ’s latest single, “It’s Time”, is also available to stream & cop via the digital retailer and streaming service of your choice!!!

Discover more from VannDigital

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading