Rapsody Encourages People To “Stand Tall”

Rapsody is ready to “Stand Tall” in her new single and announces forthcoming album plus expresses her vulnerability in her new video moderated by Sanaa Lathan.

3X Grammy-nominated recording artist Rapsody continues the campaign for her fourth studio album with an emotion-tinged new single, titled “Stand Tall”.

The prodigiously gifted rapper keeps her hot streak rolling into 2024 with a music video featuring her close friend and acclaimed actress Sanaa Lathan.

“Stand Tall” is the second taste of new music from Rapsody’s highly-anticipated album, ‘Please Don’t Cry’, which is set to release on all streaming platforms on May 17th via We Each Other / Jamla Records / Roc Nation Records.

The record is a rich tapestry of emotions that addresses gossip with dignity, honor, and authenticity.

As a mirror to reality, Rap clears up rumors about her sexual preferences and shines a light on her anxiety triggers, preparing to pull back the curtain on who Marlanna Evans is.

‘Stand Tall’ is the first song I recorded when I started working on this album in 2020,” Rapsody says. “I would say it represents my desire to speak to my humanness in the most free way. It started me on the journey, and it required me to be fearless, which is why I titled it ‘Stand Tall’ – be firm in who you are, legs straight, shoulder back, chest out. And, Sanaa [Lathan] was one of my guides and supporters on that journey. She offered so much insight, support, and tools to usher me through; as well as inspiring me with her own vulnerability. I’m grateful to have a friend in her and why I wanted to have this conversation with her first. She’s one of the biggest reasons I was even able to finish the album.

Ahead of the album’s release, Sanaa Lathan shares, “Rapsody never ceases to amaze me with her poetic genius. So thrilled to see her put out her latest masterpiece with this new level of vulnerability and authenticity; all layered over infectious beats. Can’t wait for the world to experience this one.

Rapsody initially kicked off her campaign with the arrival of the lead single, “Asteroids”, featuring 3X Grammy Award-winning beatmaker Hit-Boy.

The single was accompanied by a series of billboards plastered at different high traffic locations across her beloved home state of North Carolina, featuring tweets from her fans in support of Rap’s return to hip-hop that incorporated the hashtag #RapIsBack.

‘Please Don’t Cry’, now available for pre-order, is a more self-aware version of Rapsody.

It explores the depth of her talent with more vulnerability than any prior releases.

The 22-track album is primed for widespread acclaim and features collaborative contributions from Phylicia Rashad, Erykah Badu, Lil Wayne, Alex Isley, Niko Brim, and Baby Tate to name a few.

Please Don’t Cry‘ Tracklisting:

  1. She’s Expecting You featuring Phylicia Rashad
  2. Marlanna
  3. Asteroids
  4. Look What You’ve Done
  5. DND (It’s Not Personal) featuring Bee-B
  6. Black Popstar featuring DIXSON
  7. Stand Tall
  8. That One Time
  9. 3:AM featuring Erykah Badu
  10. Loose Rocks featuring Alex Isley
  11. Diary of a Mad Bitch featuring Bibi Bourelly
  12. Never Enough featuring Keznamdi
  13. He Shot Me
  14. God’s Light
  15. Back In My Bag
  16. Niko’s Interlude featuring Niko Brim
  17. Raw featuring Lil Wayne
  18. Lonely Women
  19. A Ballad for Homegirls featuring Baby Tate
  20. Please Don’t Cry Interlude featuring Phylicia Rashad
  21. Faith
  22. Forget Me Not featuring Amber Navran & Phylicia Rashad
Photo Credit: Jhalin Knowles

The album has been four years in the making, serving as Rap’s first full-length album since 2019’s ‘Eve’.

Elsewhere, Rapsody recently performed at Erykah Badu’s yearly birthday bash concert in Dallas for her 53rd birthday where she previewed their collaborative single “3:AM”.

It’s also important to note that Rap’s album rollout will consist of original content and limited edition merchandise that features a prominent QR code for fan-first announcements.

‘Please Don’t Cry’ is out May 17th, pre-order it on all major digital streaming platforms, and stay tuned for more from Rapsody!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Also on VannDigital...