MP3: Oddisee – No Trouble

MP3: Oddisee - No Trouble

After a decade in the music business, Mello Music Group has witnessed the dealings and promises of the record industry. Running counter-clockwise to the mainstream ethic, Mello has settled on its own code of conduct and value system. Their catalogue is a Hagakare of hip-hop — a practical and spiritual guide to the essence. While the sounds are varied, an MMG release ensures that the art comes first, the artists are religiously devoted to the upholding of standards and values. The musicians swing fast blades and fly the Mello banner with speed and strength.

This is ‘Bushido’, the latest Mello Music compilation gathering the current roster and the label’s closest brethren. As always, the core shoguns are present: Apollo Brown, Oddisee, Quelle Chris, L’Orange, Joell Ortiz, Skyzoo, and Homeboy Sandman. The rated rookies brandish sharpened swords: Solemn Brigham, Namir Blade, and The Lasso. The legacy teammates with championship trophies are all present: Open Mike Eagle, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Elaquent, Kool Keith, and Mr. Lif. So are label affiliates, Murs, The Alchemist, RJ Payne, and B-Real. The veteran general rounds out the roster, Stalley, the newest member of the Mello family. This isn’t merely an anthology, it’s a fully-formed vision of what hip-hop can be. A meticulously assembled arsenal of past, present and future.

The label’s ingenuity partially stems from its gift at bridging the generations. Between Kool Keith, Mr. Life, Murs, Alchemist and B-Real, you have artists who fathered entire schools of hip-hop (Keith might well be the Abraham for every left-field MC ). Similarly, the first generation of Mello artists has defined the otherground of this era. Here, Oddisee, Apollo Brown and L’ Orange, embody the distinguished tradition of Pete Rock and Preemo, Dilla and Madlib.

After announcing the Bushido compilation with “Black Rock“, and news of Stalley’s new deal, today, Mello Music Group, releases the project’s second single “No Trouble”, which features and is produced by Oddisee.

“No Trouble” finds Oddisee coasting through his hustle, making the usual grind feel like an effortless glide. The consummate professional, the DMV’s greatest, Oddisee, exemplifies the ‘Bushido’ album, turning the expected on its head. The battle-worthy cut eschews the hardnosed and instead walks on mello, airy, jazz lounge production while making it clear who the chief is: “I’m a whole vibe, I’m a whole tribe.”

Mello Music Group’s ‘Bushido’ compilation album will be released on 4.2.2021!!!

Bushido’ Tracklisting:

  1. Iron Steel Samurai featuring Quelle Chris [Produced by Alchemist]
  2. Gold Gloves featuring Open Mike Eagle [Produced by The Lasso]
  3. One Of The Last featuring Marlowe [Produced by L’Orange]
  4. Yours Truly featuring Homeboy Sandman [Produced by Kensaye Russell]
  5. No Trouble featuring Oddisee [Produced by Oddisee]
  6. Gwan B OK featuring Zackey Force Funk [Produced by The Lasso]
  7. Ya-Neishi The Vocals featuring Skyzoo [Produced by L’Orange]
  8. Symbol Of Hope featuring Open Mike Eagle & Namir Blade [Produced by Elaquent]
  9. Never Lived featuring Oddisee [Produced by Oddisee]
  10. None featuring Homeboy Sandman [Produced by Iman Omari]
  11. Bane Bran featuring Quelle Chris & James Shanan [Produced by Quelle Chris]
  12. Black Rock featuring Joell Ortiz, Stalley, Namir Blade, & Solemn Brigham [Produced by Namir Blade]
  13. Outlast featuring Dueling Experts & Joell Ortiz (Prod by Apollo Brown]
  14. Black Man featuring RJ Payne [Produced by Apollo Brown]
  15. Turnt Garveyite featuring Murs [Produced by Georgia Anne Muldrow]
  16. Nightmare featuring Cambatta [Produced by Apollo Brown]
  17. Rap featuring Homeboy Sandman [Produced by Eric Lau]
  18. You To Me featuring Oddisee [Produced by Oddisee]
  19. Zero Fux featuring Kool Keith, B-Real, & Joell Ortiz [Produced by Nottz]
  20. Banners featuring The Perceptionists [Produced by !llmind]

You can now pre-order, add, and favorite Mello Music Group’s ‘Bushido’ compilation album at your preferred DSP and receive “Black Rock” & “No Trouble” as an instant-grat track