MP3: L’Orange (@LOrangeMusic) feat. @Oddisee – Look Around

L'Orange - The Ordinary Man [Album Artwork]

After a trying battle with hearing loss & a number of surgeries, producer L’Orange preps his new album ‘The Ordinary Man‘ (out 10.27.2017 on Mello Music Group), a concept album about a superstar magician disillusioned with the world that made his greatness. Now fully deaf in one ear, this album marks a shift & growth for L’Orange towards an even tighter & developed sound while maintaining his sample-heavy knack for finding the essence of his influences in every beat.

The first single from the album is a landmark collaboration for Mello Music Group, combining for the first time two of the most prolific & talented artists on the roster: L’Orange & Oddisee. The new song, “Look Around” featuring Oddisee, is a perfect marriage of styles. Musically, it’s an adventurous exploration of traditional & unorthodox approaches.

The Ordinary Man‘ is the third solo album from producer L’Orange. Known for his early 20th century inspired style & stripped down jazz influence, L’Orange’s solo work is often very personal & intimate and the new album is no different.

Although mostly instrumental, there are vocal features from underground legends like Del The Funky Homosapien, Blu, Elzhi, & Oddisee as well as up and coming artists like Koreatown Oddity, Chuuwee, & Solemn Brigham. These features cement the narrative of the album, tying together a long form story.

L'Orange on September 13, 2017 [Press Photo]

Conceptually, the album follows a magician from being an unknown to the biggest star in the world. Performing impossible feats for thousands of people, the magician eventually becomes disillusioned and bitter, blaming the world for not understanding his greatness.

Although dark in tone, the album is reliably playful & absurd, taking a shadowy story and combining it with the most polished production we’ve ever seen from L’Orange.

“…the pull is musical, particularly the way L’Orange’s rhythms shift texturally as well as temporally–every minute, new effects daub and stipple the groove.” –Robert Christgau

The Ordinary Man‘ Tracklisting:

  1. Third Person
  2. Blame The Author featuring Del The Funky Homosapien
  3. The Everyday Illusion
  4. Parlor Magic
  5. The Difference featuring Blu & Elzhi
  6. The Love/Hate Relationship Between Rabbits & Magic
  7. Suspension
  8. Stage Magic
  9. Things Are Just Props featuring Koreatown Oddity
  10. Cooler Than Before
  11. Plastic Fame featuring Chuuwee & Solemn Brigham
  12. Anywhere Is Just Everywhere I Haven’t Been Yet
  13. The Misery Routine
  14. Look Around featuring Oddisee
  15. When I Vanish
  16. Broken Wand Ceremony

You can pre-order ‘The Ordinary Man‘ album via iTunes | Spotify | Bandcamp | Mello Music Group [Compact Disc | Vinyl]