#MP3: Dirt Disciples – Stand For Something (@DirtDisciples @RomeClientel @Concept1200)

Dirt Disciples - Stand For Something [Album Artwork]

The NY rapper-producer duo of Dirt Disciples (Rome Clientel & DJ Concept) is back at it with a fiery new single, “Stand For Something”, which fuses their chemistry of street rhetoric and raw beats.

The track stems from their compilation of the same name, which is set to drop next Friday, which focuses on the ideology that “if you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.” Clientel, who hails from Elmira in Upstate NY, drives that point home with an acerbic edge to his lyrics, and he fills the relatively quick outing with a number of quotables. For example: “I spit my own shit regardless if there’s fans or not / Believe me, I’d rather be loved than feared / But if the fear’s bringin’ honesty, I rather it be here.”

DJ Concept, of Long Island, holds his own on the production side of the coin as well. In addition to his hypnotic, organs-driven instrumental, he weaves in scratched samples on the hook and sped-up vocals elsewhere that paint a clear picture of Dirt Disciples intentions with “Stand for Something.”

Give the track a spin, and be on the lookout for next Friday’s release of ‘Stand For Something‘, which boasts other previously unreleased gems from the NY duo. The ten track collection includes guest features from Skyzoo, Rick Gonzalez, Chaundon, and more, and is available now for pre-order via iTunes, Bandcamp, Amazon, and Google Play.

Stand For Something‘ Tracklisting:

  1. Heartless
  2. Stand For Something
  3. Verbal Gunplay featuring Rick Gonzalez (DJ Concept Remix)
  4. Hologram
  5. Know What It Seems Like featuring Dominique Larue & Ice Grill
  6. Halftime Show Freestyle (Live with DJ Eclipse on 89.1FM WNYU)
  7. Champions featuring Rick Gonzalez & Skyzoo
  8. Different Energy featuring Ac On Demand
  9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (DJ Concept Remix)
  10. Love Is Love featuring Chaundon

Also on VannDigital...