MP3: Apollo Brown & Joell Ortiz – Reflection (@ApolloBrown @JoellOrtiz)

Detroit producer Apollo Brown has made a name for himself as one of Hip-Hop’s most legendary new producers; while maintaining a golden era sound. His production credits are a who’s who of Hip-Hop greats from Danny Brown, Skyzoo to Ghostface Killah, Ras Kass to Westside Gunn. Even Chance The Rapper used a pair of Apollo beats on his debut mixtapes. Known for bringing the best out of musicians, Apollo has a knack for making timeless classics.

Brooklyn’s Joell Ortiz started on none other than Dr. Dre’s Aftermath label and built a huge buzz in the industry. He’s worked with legends like Just Blaze among others. He then signed to Shady Records as ¼ of the supergroup Slaughterhouse. He’s worked with Hip-Hop titans Eminem, Busta Rhymes, Jadakiss, Akon, and Big Daddy Kane.

Now the pair of Hip-hop luminaries have their first collaborative album on Mello Music Group—and it’s nothing short of a masterpiece: ‘Mona Lisa‘. After their album announcement and lead-single, “Decisions”, “Timberlan’d Up” featuring Joell’s Slaughterhouse brethren Royce Da 5’9”, today they release the project’s third and last single “Reflection”.

On the eve of his first post-Slaughterhouse release, Joell discusses the state of the music industry, touches on the Slaughterhouse split and details the up’s and downs of life “took a sec to accept that next time I’m on the road, won’t be no Crook, won’t be no Royce, won’t be no Joe.”

‘Reflection’ is self explanatory. Just sharing some of my thoughts and feelings with the listenersJoell quipped. “This is one of those songs where the pen was sort of moving on its own— and I didn’t stop it. Feels melancholic, yet triumphant. Oh well..

‘Reflection’ is a super relatable chill joint. Gotta have a card like this one in every deck. I’m pretty sure this was the first song we recorded; so it set an amazing tone for what was to comeApollo Brown lamented. “Reminiscent thoughts, the feelings of today and the idea of tomorrow.”

Mona Lisa‘ Tracklisting:

  1. Brushstrokes
  2. Reflection
  3. My Block
  4. Cocaine Fingerprints
  5. Grace Of God featuring DJ Los
  6. That Place
  7. Word….
  8. Decisions
  9. Timberlan’d Up featuring Royce Da 5’9″
  10. Come Back Home
  11. Mona Lisa

Apollo Brown & Joell Ortiz’sMona Lisa‘ will be released on 10.26.2018 courtesy of Mello Music Group. You can pre-order and favorite now on your favorite digital retailers & streaming services.