Madlib feat. Black Thought & Your Old Droog “REEKYOD” (Audio)

Madlib shares his new single, “REEKYOD” featuring Black Thought and Your Old Droog, out now via Madlib Invazion.

Today, the visionary musician Madlib introduces his new single “REEKYOD”, featuring the lyrical prowess of Black Thought and Your Old Droog.

Madlib, the mastermind behind countless classics, makes his grand debut on his very own label, Madlib Invazion.

The single artwork is a collaboration with the talented Mathieu Bitton (Lenny Kravitz, Lady Gaga, Prince).

“REEKYOD” serves as more than a song; it’s a manifesto of artistic independence and musical brilliance, a celebration of real rhymes, mesmerizing beats, and the unbreakable bond between emcee and producer.

Everything I spit, shine / Imma get mine, regardless” Droog boasts, comfortable atop the beat that he foresees his own success.

“REEKYOD” serves as more than a song—it’s a declaration of artistic freedom and a celebration of hip-hop’s enduring legacy by three musicians who play distinct and vital roles within the genre.

This is strictly for the honorees. Madlib is in his bag per usual and YOD is more than a force to be reckoned with. Simply complex, this piece is high art. Triple threat. Instant classique,” says Black Thought.

It’s an honor to be inducted into the heavyweight class of hip hop,” Droog shares. “To be able to spar with one of the greatest MC’s on a beat by the greatest producer is a dream come true. Look out for the Madlib x YOD album coming soon.

Photo Credit: Mathieu Bitton

For Madlib, “REEKYOD” arrives in the wake of another Your Old Droog collaboration, “DBZ” featuring Method Man and Denzel Curry.

2024 is also a year of anniversaries for the famed producer — the 20th anniversary of the classic ‘Madvillainy’ (2004) with the late MF DOOM and the 10th anniversary of the Freddie Gibbs collaboration ‘Piñata’.

In honor of the latter’s milestone, Madlib and Gibbs announced a joint tour.

This year, he’s also lent his production skills to the jazzy ‘YHWH is LOVE’ by Jahari Massamba Unit.

The year prior, he worked on projects with ‘Liberation 2’ (with Talib Kweli) and ‘Champagne for Breakfast’ (with DJ Muggs and Meyhem Lauren).

“REEKYOD” is Madlib’s first release on Madlib Invazion since his album, ‘Ancestors‘ (2021).

Madlib Live:

  • May 10, 2024 – BOSTON*
  • May 11, 2024 – NYC*
  • May 19, 2024 – CHICAGO*
  • May 24, 2024 – LONDON*
  • May 26, 2024 – LONDON (SOLO DJ SET)
  • May 30, 2024 – BARCELONA*

*with Freddie Gibbs

Madlib’s “REEKYOD” track is also available now to stream and cop on all major digital streaming platforms

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Also on VannDigital...